?

Log in

No account? Create an account

beyond Elsewhere

In Back of Infinity: Notes from the Writer - Part I

beyond Elsewhere - Author's Blog & Science Fiction

beyond Elsewhere

In Back of Infinity: Notes from the Writer - Part I

Previous Entry Share Next Entry
novelling
Once upon a time, there was a television show that allowed people from off of the street to come in and pitch (that is, submit ideas for stories) for them. It was often a failed effort for most, but a few careers were actually started because of it.

Oh, how I wish more shows would adopt such practices. But I also understand why they don't. I also understand why they stay away from fan forums and fan fiction in general: they don't want to be sued for "stealing" the ideas and concepts developed by the fans who support them.

One show that I would absolutely LOVE to pitch for would be Doctor Who. But sadly, I believe that is a "closed shop," and besides, they already have great writers already putting out some pretty decent work.

Okay, so where does that leave me? Just to simply write fan fiction for the entertainment of myself and a few friends? Or, would it not make more sense to create my own universe and potentially entertain a whole new (or like-minded) audience?

I elect to go for the latter selection. ;-)

Hmmm, now what should I write about? I know... a uniquely different kind of epic story in the tradition of Babylon 5, Star Trek, Firefly, etc. But once completed, it would be a challenge to create awareness of its existence. Have you been to a brick and mortal bookstore lately? The volume of books by new authors are overwhelming! How am *I* going to break through all that competition?

As a student of marketing, the answer is obvious: get some name recognition out there and build a fan base. Heh, easier said than done, but in the current Information Age, it really can be done a whole lot easier (and cheaper).

Hence the creation of a side project: the Infinity Series, an attempt to make my own Doctor Who-like literary opus. When complete, it will be freely distributed, with the hopes of getting that name recognition out there. If anyone wants in on the editiing process in the form of constructive criticism, I happily welcome it.

There is a distinct beginning, middle, and end to the Infinity project. Getting there will be a fun journey to embark upon.

***

Chapter 1 comes on Thursday. Look for it here, and on my main blog. ;-)
Powered by LiveJournal.com